The church is the most imposing building in the abbey (94 m long, 23 m high and 40 m wide). Its construction, first in Romanesque and later in Gothic style, began in 1197 and was completed around 1267. One of the peculiarities of the building is the use of oculi (small circular openingss) combined with very elongated window, which make the choir a unique construction. The simplicity of the lines and of the decoration are characteristic of Cistercian art. The monks met in the church seven times a day and once at night to chant.